AFFIX update

This week Clerke & Joy are devising the workshops that AFFIX are delivering as part of their time at Bristol Old Vic and The Station. They are working with this question as a starting point: How can AFFIX work as a tool for performance, conversation & creativity? AFFIX is really excited about this collaboration before Clerke & Joy head off to India for the winter.

This week we also caught up with AFFIX founder Sabrina Shirazi to hear about AFFIX’s development:

What is the very first step of making a textile structure and how do you go approaching that?

I imagine each artist has his or her own approach depending on what the structure is going to be used for, but usually I first draw the idea that is in my head many times, very roughly in my sketchbook. If the structure is fairly small, I make a paper model of it and I try to get my head around the pattern cutting before I mock it up in fabric. The first textile structures at I made at uni were a series of fabric wallpapers that were inspired by men’s tailoring and Le Sap. I wanted to make miniature lapels and collars to come out from the wall, for which I reduced costume patterns in the photocopier from adult size to miniature. I soon found out this wasn’t the best way to grade patterns, but it worked in my favour to understand what shapes I should be cutting out to make the final shapes.
Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 17.00.48

What is the most fluid and natural part of devising a performative structure for your work?

For me, the most natural part of it all is coming up with ideas, drawing them in a frenzy, coming back to them in a couple of months and then perhaps giving them a go. The rest of it is a bumpy journey.

What is the most performative part of making a textile structure?

With AFFIX, the performative aspect comes from when we offer our work out for the public to play with. That is the most enjoyable time for us to see how the public react to the work, how creative they will be and what new shape formations are made in the process. It puts a smile on our face. I think my work is more valuable if lots of people warm to it by way of making them laugh.

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 17.00.21

What is the most tactile part of devising your performative structure?

The tactile part is choosing the fabric and envisioning how the object that covers it can be used. Our participants are going to be making contact with the shapes we make. The other day in the studio I came up with a combination of ‘friendly looking’ shapes- this sounds very strange. Ultimately I wanted the shapes on offer to look approachable and fun rather than sharp and harsh to look at. In my mind this makes an impact upon making a tactile piece accessible to play with.

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 17.00.32

Check out more AFFIX’s creation process through Instagram, Twitter & Facebook!

Comments are closed.

