Introducing… Chloë Smith #platform1112

Chloe

This is the first time I’ll have performed in Bristol, and so it’s unlikely you know who I am.
I’m Chloë and I’m a live artist living and working in London.

Originally from a small town on the English-Scottish border I’ve lived in Devon where I studied at
Dartington College of Arts, and Cornwall as a result of Dartington merging with University College
Falmouth. I graduated this September with a First Class BA (Hons) in Choreography with Visual Art Practices and have been living in London since.

It’s not long now until I perform ‘I’ve been dreaming of this since I was a boy’ at the parlour
showrooms and I think it’s great, I would it’s my show. But don’t just take my word for it, other people seem to thinks so too. Some things people have said about it include ‘strong, political and very moving’, ‘as a dancer, Chloë is an excellent writer… On the Edinburgh Fringe this would be a massive hit’ and ‘a fresh and exciting piece of work.’
I make all sorts of works from installations, large scale site-specific pieces, one-on-one shows,
performances for small audiences, and collaborations with musicians. I’m also part of the group
CLUSTER BOMB [collective], and I’ve just finished performing with them in our latest show Run!City!Run!

Lorelei

Some other pieces I’ve made include ‘Lorelei’s Way’ a site piece made in Falmouth in conjunction
with the Royal Cornwall Museum, ‘Absent’ for an old penny lodging house, ‘At the Table’ a
collaboration with 2 musicians for 2 audience members at a time and ‘111’ an installation for 111
steps with jam jars and beads.

More recently, I’ve started making solo shows, and performances that have shifted more towards
live art than choreography. During my third year at university there was a real shift in my practice,
I became more politically engaged and did lots of research into art and activist, which led to my
dissertation ‘The Body as a Political Tool: Through Activism and Choreography’.
As a feminist and activist I want to make performances that deal with real issues in our lives and
address the social and political contexts of the world we live in. I want the people watching my shows to actually feel something.

I’ve got three new shows I’ve just started working on; a solo show all about hair, a collaboration with a musician, and a new site-specific piece for Berwick-upon-Tweed.

I’m really excited to be part of Ausform and to perform ‘I’ve been dreaming of this since I was a boy again’. I just need to start rehearsing it now!

I’ve Been Dreaming of This Since I Was a Boy is part of the Ausform Platform main line-up and is the Parlour Showrooms on Saturday 17th at 4 and 6pm! Tickets here

Cafe is open 3-8pm

 

Leave a Reply

